(Montreal) Jim Furyk has been named captain of the U.S. team that will compete in the Presidents Cup from September 24-29, 2024 at the Royal Montreal Golf Club.

Furyk, who has won 17 PGA Tour events in his career, will make his debut as Team USA captain at this event. He appeared seven times in the Presidents Cup as a player between 1998 and 2011 and has a record of 20-10-3.

He was part of Team USA when the event was held at Royal Montreal in 2007, posting a 3-2 record, including two wins with Tiger Woods as his playing partner.

Furyk captained Team USA at the Ryder Cup in 2018. He has also served as assistant to the USA captain at the Presidents Cup twice, for Jay Haas in 2015 and Steve Stricker in 2017.

Canadian Mike Weir was named international team captain in November 2022.

The American team has won the last nine editions of the Presidents Cup, including the last time last September in Charlotte, North Carolina.

The international team’s last and only victory was in 1998 in Melbourne, Australia. The two teams also drew in 2003, in George, South Africa.