(New York) Dave Hakstol, Jim Montgomery and Lindy Ruff were named finalists for the Jack Adams Trophy on Friday.

This trophy is awarded annually to the NHL head coach who has “contributed the most to the success of his team”.

Hakstol guided the Seattle Kraken (46-28-8) to their first playoff appearance in franchise history, just their second season in the NHL.

The Kraken joined the Vegas Golden Knights and Atlanta Flames (now Calgary Flames) as the only teams since 1968-69 to reach the playoffs in their first two seasons.

Montgomery, who was in his first season behind the bench for the Boston Bruins (65-12-5), won the Presidents’ Trophy in a record-breaking season.

The Bruins set NHL records for wins (65) and points (135) and started the campaign with a league-high 14 home win streak.

Ruff led the New Jersey Devils (52-22-8) to team records for wins and points en route to third overall in the NHL.

The Devils are up 49 points from the 2021-22 season, the biggest since the NHL implemented an 82-game schedule in 1995-96.

The winner will be announced at the NHL Awards Gala, to be held June 26 in Nashville.