After House of the Dragon and the original Game of Thrones series, author George R. R. Martin will adapt another of his works set in Westeros for HBO.

A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms: The Hedge Knight will be based on three short stories united under the title of Tales of Dunk and Egg: The Hedge Knight, published in 1998, The Sworn Sword in 2003 and The Mystery Knight in 2010. According to the first information , it is the first news that will first be brought to the screen in a series that should have six episodes – at least that is what George R. R. Martin indicated in his blog, while specifying that the decision will be taken later in the creative process.

While HBO has already given the green light to production of the first season without even going through the production of a pilot episode, it is unknown at this time if it will also go ahead with The Sworn Sword and The Mystery Knight, nor is the air date of The Hedge Knight known – the start of filming has also not been determined. However, the author indicated that the script was already well advanced, work undertaken by Ira Parker, who was part of the writing team of the first season of House of the Dragon.

Written and produced by Martin and Parker, the series will take place after the events of House of the Dragon, but a century before those of Game of Thrones. We follow the adventures of Sir Duncan the Great (aka Dunk) and his young squire, Egg, at a time when the Targaryen line still holds the Iron Throne and where memories of the last dragons still linger. George R.R. Martin indicated that the (very long) name of the series was tentative, but that he wanted the word “knight” to appear in the title, as Dunk is central to the story.