Singer Diane Dufresne and filmmaker Alanis Obomsawin are among the eight personalities who will receive an honorary doctorate from Université Laval this year.

This is the highest distinction awarded by the establishment of knowledge of Quebec, the diplomas will be awarded on the occasion of the convocation which will take place from June 19 to 22 at the Center des congrès de Québec.

Diane Dufresne obtained her honorary doctorate for her contribution to music, while Ms. Obomsawin received hers for her work in cinema. Among the six other personalities also honored during the same evening, we note the former president of Hydro-Québec Sophie Brochu, the political analyst Régine Laurent and the former horticultural journalist Larry Hodgson, who died last October.

“Through this token of appreciation and esteem, we pay tribute to inspiring people who have distinguished themselves through their careers, their achievements or their extraordinary contributions,” said Rector Sophie D’Amours in a press release. This year, the eight honored personalities have largely contributed to the development of their field, whether in the arts, horticulture, politics, administration, education, mathematics or medicine. I would like to thank them for accepting this honor and thus promoting Université Laval here and well beyond our borders. »