(Seattle) Vladimir Guerrero ruled the major league home run contest Monday night in Seattle.

The Toronto Blue Jays slugger made it to the final and triumphed 25-23 over Randy Arozarena of the Tampa Bay Rays.

“It’s amazing how powerful he is,” Arozarena said. He was sensational. »

Guerrero notably slammed 14 home runs in one minute and 13 seconds in the final.

This is the first time a father-son duo has won the competition, including the father’s victory in 2007, in San Francisco.

Guerrero Jr. was beaten in the final of the contest in 2019, in Cleveland.

The pitcher for Guerrero on Monday was John Schneider, the Toronto club’s manager.

In the semifinals, Guerrero had the last laugh 21-20 against local hero Julio Rodriguez of the Seattle Mariners.

Rodriguez was a masterful homer with 41 in the first round, advancing to the semifinals with Guerrero, Arozarena and Luis Robert of the Chicago White Sox.

Robert was outscored 35-22 in the second round, by Arozarena. Robert still managed the longest cannon shot of the evening, 484 feet.

Rodriguez had ruled out Pete Alonso of the Mets, who has already won this contest twice.

Alonso sent 21 balls over the fence.

Guerrero first knocked out Mookie Betts of the Dodgers, 26-11.

Arozarena defeated Adolis García of the Rangers, 24-17, while Robert defeated Adley Rutschman of the Orioles, 28-27.

Rutschman wowed the crowd on both sides of the plate. He hit 21 home runs as a left-handed hitter, including one for 445 feet, before adding six long hits as a right-hander.

The T-Mobile Park crowd gave him a standing ovation.

Rutschman is from Portland, Oregon. He grew up as a fan of the Mariners, hosts of all-star events this year. It was his father Randy who threw him.

Only three players have triumphed in front of their fans: Ryne Sandberg with the Chicago Cubs in 1990, Todd Frazier with the Cincinnati Reds in 2015, and Bryce Harper with the Washington Nationals in 2018.

The Long Ball Festival is held on the sidelines of the annual Star Classic.

The All-Star Game will be presented Tuesday night at the home of the Seattle Mariners.