Winter tyres: the 34 departments where they are compulsory


A month. From November 1, 2022 until March 31, 2023, the obligation to have winter tires will be effective again. The Mountain Law, which came into force only last year, is at the origin of this measure .

The term “winter tyres” should however be clarified. The obligation takes into account removable anti-skid devices such as metal snow chains or winter tires on at least two wheels of each axle, recalls Caradisiac.

This legal tool is accompanied by a panel to specify the start and end of the area where you have to put them. It is in particular the places located near mountain ranges that are targeted. In this sense, it is not necessarily in the entire territory of a department that the obligation applies.

Are you concerned by the obligation? To find out, Planet made the slideshow below which lists the departments where it will be effective from November 1, 2022.

This year, Haute-Corse, Southern Corsica and Yonne are added to the list of departments that have decided not to apply the measure.

La Corrèze, Côte-d’Or, Creuse, Gard, Hérault, Lot, Meurthe-et-Moselle, Nièvre, La Saône et Loire, Tarn-et-Garonne and Haute-Vienne are also part of it.

Have you not planned anything to go in the mountains? Do not panic. For the moment, there will be no sanction. Dominique Stempfel, president of the tire union explains why in the media quoted above: “The decrees of implementing the law have still not been signed, so there is a good chance that no sanction will be applied this year again . “