(Hopkinton) Evans Chebet successfully defended his Boston Marathon title on Monday, topping the field at Heartbreak Hill before crossing the finish line in an unofficial time of two hours, five minutes and 54 seconds.

It was the third best time in the history of the race, which was in its 127th edition. Chebet also prevented world record holder in the distance, Eliud Kipchoge, from adding another title to his impressive record.

Chebet, 2021 Boston Marathon winner Benson Kipruto, and Gabriel Geay dropped Kipchoge around the 32nd mark, and the trio remained united until about 5 km from the finish line. Geay won a duel for second place, 10 seconds behind Chebet, but two seconds ahead of Kipruto.

Kipchoge, winner of 12 career marathons, finished sixth.

Several world record holders were among the participants, including some Olympic and Paralympic medalists. In addition, major marathon champions from 27 countries, including 12 former winners of the Boston race, are included, according to the Boston Athletic Association, which is responsible for organizing the event. It should be noted that Kipchoge took part in this race for the first time in his career.

On Saturday, the City of Boston marked the 10th anniversary of the Boston Marathon bombing. The 2013 race was halted after two pipe bombs exploded on Boylston Street near the finish line.

Police used a robotic dog near the start line on Monday to ensure the scene was safe. This one was followed by photographers, who sketched the scene on the spot.

About 30,000 athletes completed the 42.2 km to Copley Square in Boston today. A light rain soaked the asphalt in the morning, and the riders were faced with a headwind. The temperature hovered around 10 degrees Celsius.

This year’s race included a new category reserved for non-binary athletes.

At around 6 a.m. this morning in Hopkinton, event director Dave McGillivray sent about 20 members of the Massachusetts National Guard, who patrol the course every year, to announce the start of the marathon. . He thanked them for their dedication, and wished them good luck on the circuit.