Six Canadian artists are part of the short list competing for the 2024 Sobey Arts Prize. In Quebec, multidisciplinary artist Nico Williams, a member of the Anishinaabe community and specialist in sculptural beading, was selected.

The other artists selected by the jury are: Mathieu L├ęger (Atlantique), June Clark (Ontario), Rhayne Vermette (Prairies), Judy Chartrand (Pacific) and Taqralik Partridge (Circumpolar).

The winner will be announced at a public event on November 9. The total prize money awarded to the artists is $465,000.

The short list of finalists for the Sobey Art Award was announced Tuesday by the National Gallery of Canada (NGC) and the Sobey Foundation. A selection of works by these six artists will be presented at the NGC from October 4 to March 16, 2025.