Coverage of Gatineau By-election: Who Will Be Elected Mayor?

Seven candidates are vying for the position of mayor of Gatineau for a 17-month term. The elected individual will serve a 17-month term before Gatineau residents return to the polls on November 2, 2025. Over 200,000 eligible voters participated in the by-election.

In addition to the mayoral race, there is also a by-election in the Carrefour-de-l’Hôpital district with three candidates in the running.

The latest updates from the election night include Yves Ducharme’s gathering at the Tecumseh Golf Club, where he was supported by independent councillors Mike Duggan and Denis Girouard. Initial results from 101 polling stations showed Maude Marquis-Bissonnette leading with 3,794 votes, followed by Yves Ducharme with 3,136 votes.

As the night progressed, the City of Gatineau revealed a voter turnout of 32.8%, slightly lower than previous municipal elections. With 569 polling stations to count, the first results showed Maude Marquis-Bissonnette leading with 31 votes.

The election saw the participation of prominent figures like former Gatineau Mayor Maxime Pedneaud-Jobin, who attended the Action Gatineau gathering at Minotaure.

Candidates Maude Marquis-Bissonnette, Yves Ducharme, Olive Kamanyana, and Daniel Feeny cast their votes, with Stéphane Bisson voting early last week. Some voters expressed concerns over the costs of the by-election, estimated at $2 million by the City of Gatineau in February.