Nacho Serrano Updated: Save Send news by mail electrónicoTu name *

Your email *

email *

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Editors (Ascap) awarded yesterday the puerto rican Benito Antonio Martínez Ocasio, better known as Bad Bunny , the award of the Best Composer of the Year , in a gala dedicated virtual Latin music that has had the colombian Greeicy Rendon as the host. The artist, author of success global as a “Safaera”, “Why pretend”, “I dirty dancing alone”, “neither good Nor bad”, “Callaíta”, “song”, “Only me”, “I don’t know” or “Maiden”, has not reacted in your social networks, but have done so thousands of internet users who have expressed their perplexity and even outrage at the verdict of the jury.

Another of the letters of this superstar of the urban music that have been cited to ridicule the award is “Pa Break it” , which says: “Today I want you the night out / Pa’ break it, pa’ to break / Baby, pónteme back / Pa’ break it, pa’ to break it / Today I want to the night exit / Pa’ break it, pa’ to break it / Mamacita, please back / Pa’ break it, pa’ to break / Baby, vamo’ a break / I Know you came out pa’ fuck / Pónteme linda pa’ upload couple of video’ to my cel / And send me the location pa’ stopping to pick up / If tocamo’ track vo’ren to cause it to explode / I vo’ren to put the comb full, as gun bichote”.

Obviously, there are many composers who deserve the award more than Bad Bunny, but the decision of the ASCAP has its explanation, and that is not valued criteria of quality, but that will have much more on account of the number of reproductions , and visualizations for artists to get their songs and videos all over the world. For this reason, the us institution has also recognised the work of Daddy Yankee giving you the award for Best Song of the Year for “easy”. “Latin music is one of the most popular in the world,” he said in a video message, the president of ASCAP, Paul Williams. “This is because his rhythms, his passion, honesty and deep love for their traditions and the gift of passing through barriers to speak to us all equally, no matter the language we speak”.

Other winners of awards ASCAP have been Romeo Santos (Best Artist of the Year), Belinda, Sebastian Yatra, Anuel AA, Billie Eilish, Karol G, Natti Natasha and Natalia Lafourcade, Lunay and Floor 21, among others. Universal Music Publishing took home the category Publisher of the Year, and and Kobalt Songs Music Publishing as a freelance editor of the year.