After vehicles without stickers and Crit’Air 5, some cities now no longer allow all vehicles with the Crit’Air 4 label to circulate on their roads from this January.

A specific type of vehicle is affected by this ban: these are cars and diesel vehicles registered between January 1, 2001 and December 31, 2005, and two-wheelers registered between June 1, 2000 and June 30, 2004.

These cities, where around 2 million people live, have decided to take this measure together. For drivers who do not respect the new rule, that of not driving or parking in these areas, they will have to pay a fine of 68 euros. If they are trucks or coaches, the fine could reach 135 euros.

This ban concerns polluting vehicles of several car series. However, the authorities have decided to apply the bans gradually, so as not to catch the drivers concerned by surprise.

It is with this in mind that the Lyon region decided, last June, to postpone its plan to no longer authorize Crit’Air 2 vehicles (diesel and gasoline cars registered before 2011) from January 1, 2026 to January 1, 2028 .

The creation of Low Emission Zones (ZFE), in other words the ban on diesel cars, is to improve air quality. It is estimated that air pollution causes nearly 100,000 premature deaths in France each year.

In specific regions like Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, around 4,300 deaths could be due to fine particles alone, called PM2.5, which have a diameter of less than 2.5 micrometers.

Below, in our slideshow, are the cities affected by this ban: